Bartolotta Reappointed Chair of Senate Labor and Industry Committee

HARRISBURG – In addition to serving as a new member of the Senate Republican Leadership team, Senator Camera Bartolotta (R-46) will continue to lead the Senate Labor and Industry Committee after being reappointed to the post by Senate President Pro Tempore Jake Corman (R-34) today.

The committee is responsible for considering a wide range of issues pertaining to both employers and employees, including Worker’s Compensation, Unemployment Compensation, workplace safety, building codes and workforce development. 

As chair of the committee during the 2019-20 Legislative Session, Bartolotta led a comprehensive review of the flaws in the state’s Unemployment Compensation system that led to delayed payments to hundreds of thousands of claimants. The committee also considered issues such as clarifying workers’ compensation applicability for members of volunteer fire companies and fire police, minimum wage and overtime exemptions, and new laws updating smoke detector requirements for family child care facilities. Additionally, the committee held hearings regarding PA Turnpike Commission layoffs and to gather information about paid family and medical leave proposals.

Bartolotta said her priorities for the new legislative session will include overseeing critical upgrades to the state’s Unemployment Compensation system, as well as building a stronger environment for job growth to help the state’s economy recover from the COVID-19 pandemic.

“I am honored to be given an opportunity to lead this committee over the next two years and explore new ways to support our economic recovery from the damage done by the pandemic and Governor Wolf’s response to it,” Bartolotta said. “Our state’s economy was devastated by this crisis, and it will take a long time and a lot of effort to rebuild. I look forward to working with my colleagues on the committee to move these efforts forward.”

Bartolotta was also appointed last week to serve as a member of the Senate Republican Leadership team as Majority Caucus Administrator. 

CONTACT: Katrina Hanna (717) 787-1463

Back to Top