Senate Committee to Conduct Roundtable With Local, State Officials on Region’s School Safety Efforts

PETERS TWP – The Senate Majority Policy Committee, chaired by Senator David G. Argall (R-Schuylkill/Berks), will hold a roundtable discussion to review school safety efforts with local and state officials on Monday, August 6.

The roundtable will be held at 1 p.m. at the Peters Township Library at 616 E. McMurray Road in McMurray.

The public roundtable comes at the request of Senators Guy Reschenthaler (R-Allegheny/Washington) and Camera Bartolotta (R-Beaver/Washington/Greene), who want to highlight the region’s concerns and challenges when it comes to school safety.

“I want to thank Senators Bartolotta, Regan, Argall, and the Policy Committee for continuing the efforts to address school safety across the Commonwealth. The Senate of Pennsylvania led the push for school safety measures, programs, and funding in this year’s budget, but it was just the start,” said Reschenthaler. “Much more is needed to improve and ensure the safety of our local school districts, and I look forward to discussing new ways to prevent school violence in our community with our teachers, administrators and law enforcement.”

“Protecting students, teachers and school personnel has been a point of emphasis for lawmakers over the past year, and school safety was a major component of this year’s budget as well,” Bartolotta said. “This meeting offers us an opportunity to talk about the unique needs of our local communities and develop strategies to help keep students safe from acts of school violence.”

The roundtable will feature a discussion on recently enacted reforms aimed at addressing school safety concerns, pending proposals before the state legislature and a focus on new proposals that could be pursued this fall and early next year.

In addition to members of the Senate Majority Policy Committee, the roundtable will feature several local school district administrators, statewide association members and other interested stakeholders.

More information can be found on the committee’s website at, or  You can listen to Chairman Argall discuss the importance of the upcoming public roundtable discussion here.

Aaron Bonnaure (Reschenthaler)

Colleen Greer (Bartolotta)

Jon Hopcraft (Argall)

Back to Top